Burning of the Koran: Some Random Thoughts

There has been a lot in the news lately about the small church in Gainesville, Florida that plans to burn copies of the Koran on 9-11.  Here are some of my thoughts on the matter.

I remember one time in college that some friends got a hold book of Mormon and tore it up (I went to a Christian college).  It really bothered me.

It’s wrong to show blatant disrespect to a religious book that is valued by others.  Even when the book is in error.  We respect the book because we respect the persons who value it.

I remember as a kid getting my first Bible.  My parents taught me to take great care with it.  To treat it reverently.  One “rule” I was taught was to never set something else on top of my Bible.  The Bible is God’s word, and so I was to treat the Bible with respect.  Some may call that rule legalistic, and maybe it was.  But I still don’t set anything on top of my Bible.  And if I see something on top of a Bible, I will move it.

Muslims feel the same way about the Koran as I feel about the Bible.  Even more so.  They generally have it beat into their heads at a young age that the Koran is a holy book worthy of respect.  When someone deliberatly destroys the Koran, this creates rage among Muslims.  Perhaps that is the biggest concern here.  Creating rage among Muslims against Christians, and against Christ.  Stuff like this pushes them further away from Jesus.

On the flip side Acts 19:19 is somewhat applicable.  It records the Ephesians burning up their magic scrolls.  The difference there is that they were burning their own things that they no longer wanted.  Not going out and buying them and burning them to make a point or to try and irritate others.

It’s also irritating how the media has hyped this event up.  It seems the secular media is always jumping at the chance to portray Christians as hateful.

Lastly, the name of the church group seems oxymoronic.  “Dove World Outreach”.  Nice.

8 Comments

Filed under Islam

8 responses to “Burning of the Koran: Some Random Thoughts

  1. I posted something similar on the same subject. I too oppose the burning and think it does nothing for the kingdom of God.

  2. This topic could come under the heading :

    “How a Church of 50 can gain worldwide publicity and lose half of its congregation in the process”.

    This has become a big news story in Australia (as it has elsewhere).
    We have heard that its church membership was only 50 or so originally.
    It is also being reported that half of the congregation have left in protest over what the pastor has planned.

  3. Scooter

    Kevin, Just wondering about the pagan icons, ashterath poles, magic paraphernalia used by seers, etc. that were considered to be “holy” by Canaanite tribes in the Old Testament but commanded to be destroyed by the Israelites by a jealous God who says to have no other gods before Him? The Koran presents another god -Allah who is no god at all. While I don’t condone this action by the Dove Church I wonder if we have become so fearful of offending people? This never seems to be a problem in the Bible.

  4. Hi Scooter, thanks for stopping by. We are in agreement about the error of the Koran.

    Regarding not offending people, there can be two motivations: fear (which you describe) and love (which I describe). You are correct that Christians should not avoid offending people out of fear. That is the wrong motivation.

    What I’m taking about is not offending people out of love. This pastor’s actions are not particularly courageous. Sometimes it takes more courage to set aside one’s rights and to not offend because we love the other person who tramples us. Jesus talks about this kind of love in Matt 5.

  5. hystar

    I had to ask myself the question, has that preacher read the Quran before he decided to burn it, or is his information based on what he has heard? I looked at the first two books of the Quran and found a lot of parallels to the Bible. I posted what I had found. http://biblecompare.wordpress.com/

  6. Dr. Dan

    Yep, right on Kevin and friends. Burning something is an act of violence. Sacrificial burning was done by those designated by God and burning sacrifices willingly submitted by the sacrifice makers. This man– (I dare not call him a pastor because he is not acting like one just now)– this man is merely imitating those in the world who burn our Bible or burn flags or burn images of certain people. They all are expressing hatred toward whatever they burn.

    God’s people, those saved by faith in Jesus Christ are called to function in His image, rather than images of The World of Hatred.

  7. Superb web-site sincerely, Eugenie Tape

Leave a Reply

